Home > Life > God Didn’t Use Cookie Cutters

God Didn’t Use Cookie Cutters

Some simple cutout cookie cutters

Some simple cutout cookie cutters (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

God didn’t use cookie cutters to create us. He made us each distinctly unique, and He made us to interact with one another—in a good way! Being uniquely created, we all respond to life’s circumstances differently, even in grief. We all grieve in our own way.

Despite the fact that I’ve been going through the grieving process, I don’t claim to understand it. Dissecting the process hasn’t been the goal; letting it take its course has. And yes, on a blogging level, I’ve been quite silent. Have there been lessons to share? Yes, of course. However, having lived in this skin of mine for quite some time, I knew that I would lean toward being a private griever, that I would need times of solitude, that I would need private time to process it.

Knowing that, I’ve been relatively silent on the subject as I’ve carved out the time and space I felt I needed for that alone time. Yet, even during that time, God impressed on my heart the need to reconnect with friends that I didn’t have the time or energy to connect with during my husband’s long illness. He reminded me, despite my tendency to want to withdraw, that I really do need the love and support of friends—in a big way.

And you know what? He was right. (He always is!) They’ve been there for me. Loving. Supportive. Ready to listen. Ready to give hugs. Each uniquely created by God and such a blessing in my life. I’m so glad that God didn’t pull out the cookie cutters when He created us. I’m so thankful for those uniquely diverse and wonderful people that God has put in my life. What about you? Are you thankful for all those special people in your life? If so, let them know! 


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rosie Cochran

I’m a mother of four great sons. I’m a widow who’s transitioning back into full-time missions to work with NTM’s Communications department. I’m also an author of three Christian suspense novels: Betrayed, Identity Revealed, and A Murder Unseen. (Available at: Amazon.com.) Greater than that, I am a child of God with a passion for God, my family, and writing! If you want to connect with me, join me on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreadsand Pinterest. Interested in updates by email? CLICK HERE!

Have a question? Email Me!

Categories: Life
  1. December 9, 2013 at 7:07 am

    I think grief is the one thing most judged. My husband and I grieved the loss of our son very differently, and fortunately I had a savvy pastor who told me to watch for that and not damage our relationship. Grief is personal. Deeply personal. There is no right or wrong way to go through it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

