Home > Devotional, Life > The GPS That Never Fails

The GPS That Never Fails

Despite my son’s misgivings on the abilities of my GPS, I love the thing. Yet, I must admit that at times it fails me—even if only temporarily. As great of an aid as they are, they still have their limitations.

But God? No limitations there.

Entering the tunnel!

Entering the tunnel!

Case in point.  Did you know your GPS will lose signal when you take the underwater tunnel between New Jersey and Manhattan? You get out the other end, in unending traffic, without a clue as to which lane you should be merging into. A GPS signal can fail.

But God? He never fails.

Detours bring confusion to my poor GPS. Driving directly under the Brooklyn Bridge after missing the detour, my GPS showed the bridge stretching out before me, when, in reality, there was nothing but water! To a GPS, detours can be a big problem.

NYC visit 415

On the Brooklyn Bridge!

But to God? Detours aren’t even detours. They are just side trips on the road of life. 

Don’t you just love it when your GPS tries to direct you onto a road that doesn’t exist? Been there. Done that. Or it doesn’t take into account that it’s nearly impossible to merge across four lanes of traffic to take the next exit? And then I get to listen to that annoying “recalculating” as my GPS tries to figure out where I’ve gotten to.

But God? He never has to recalculate. He knows the beginning from the end. Nothing catches him by surprise. The GPS may need to recalculate, but God does not.

My son might be justified in having some misgivings about my GPS, but I’m thankful he never has to have misgivings about our God. What an awesome God we serve!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rosie Cochran

I’m a mother of four great sons—and I have a wonderful daughter-in-law! I’m a recent widow who’s transitioning back into full-time missions to work with NTM’s Communications department. I’m also an author of three Christian suspense novels: Betrayed, Identity Revealed, and A Murder Unseen. (Available at: Amazon.com.) Greater than that, I am a child of God with a passion for God, my family, and writing! If you want to connect with me, join me on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreadsand Pinterest. Interested in updates by email? CLICK HERE!

Have a question? Email Me!

Categories: Devotional, Life
  1. August 29, 2013 at 6:32 pm

    Love this Rosie and it was perfect for me today 🙂 Thank you!

    • August 29, 2013 at 9:07 pm

      I love how God does that—making something just right for someone else. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

