Home > Life, Missionary Life > Problems and Solutions

Problems and Solutions

947018_10151573924680513_1307846812_n

The Problem

As I stood on stage, waiting for the cue to step forward to introduce myself, my son leaned toward me and chuckled into my ear, “You’re not going to be able to reach the mic.”

I smothered a smile. I had been studying the mic myself and knew that, though I should be able to reach it, they definitely hadn’t considered my being vertically challenged when they set it up.

Being the first missionary in line, I smiled, stepped forward and began my introduction. Comic relief came to the rescue. If there had been any formality before, it melted into oblivion.

The Solution

The Solution

That was the Wednesday evening kick-off to a great five-day Missions Conference at Second Baptist Church in Auburn, NY. Workshops, a missions prayer breakfast, a carry-in dinner and more filled those five days. Opportunities to hear and to share of the work the Lord is doing around the world were plenteous—as were special times of fellowship with the church family. It was an overall great conference.

Sunday was the final day of the conference. As I stepped forward to begin the round of introductions once more, I noticed that care had been taken to remedy Wednesday’s problematic mic. With some humorous remarks, a mic was handed to me. Considering this was my home church, with staff I continue to work with on a daily basis, the friendly jibes were not much of a surprise. 🙂


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rosie Cochran

I’m a mother of four great sons—and I have a wonderful daughter-in-law! I’m a recent widow who’s transitioning back into full-time missions to work with NTM’s Communications department. I’m also an author of three Christian suspense novels: Betrayed, Identity Revealed, and A Murder Unseen. (Available at: Amazon.com.) Greater than that, I am a child of God with a passion for God, my family, and writing! If you want to connect with me, join me on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreadsand Pinterest. Interested in updates by email? CLICK HERE!

Have a question? Email Me!

Categories: Life, Missionary Life
  1. May 1, 2013 at 1:32 am

    You’re a Star Rosie. xx Hugs xx

    • May 1, 2013 at 6:49 am

      One that doesn’t hang too high in the sky? LOL! Thanks, David. 🙂

  2. Chris Cornell
    May 1, 2013 at 9:38 am

    Rosie,
    I am amazed at how you are able to turn a lemon into lemonade! God had blessed you with such an great ability to keep going forward in times of trials.

    • May 1, 2013 at 12:08 pm

      Chris, we have a great God. That’s how lemons really turn into lemonade. 🙂

  3. Brad Gardiner/Marion Gardiner
    May 1, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    Me too-5 ft. 1/4 inch. Funny story! So glad to hear how things are going.

    • May 1, 2013 at 12:06 pm

      You’ve got a half an inch on me! I measure it at 4′ 11 3/4″. I never quite reached that pinnacle of five feet! Uh…except on anything official. Then it’s rounded to five feet. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

