Home > Life, Missionary Life > No Longer a Visitor

No Longer a Visitor

DSC00061

Walking through the doors of New Tribes Mission’s headquarters, I headed to the front desk to sign in. It was a strange feeling to be signing in like a stranger at a place that felt so much like home. But it hadn’t been home for over six years, and to the woman behind the desk I was a stranger and a visitor.

My day was filled with meetings and filling out paperwork. Each meeting added confirmation in my heart that this was where God would have me to be. Back in missions. Back to the same mission where Matt and I served for many years—yet in a new capacity.ย 

Being that God has given me a love of writing, it wasn’t a surprise whenย He touched my heart to explore the possibilities of joining the Communications team at NTM. Having recently lost my husband to cancer, I labored over when the timing would be right to proceed. I asked God to make it clear.

In the meantime, unbeknownst to me, the Director of Communications was praying about when it would be appropriate to write and let me know that if I was interested in writing for NTM, that they would love to have me consider that. He wanted it to be God’s timing—not his.

God answered both our prayers. The letter was written, I responded, and God is in the process of putting the finishing touches on the timing of His perfect plan.

I smiled as I walked out the doors at the end of the day, knowing that the next time I walked through those doors, I would no longer be a visitor.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rosie Cochran

I am a widow—but my identity does not end there. I am a former pastor’s wife, former missionary, current full-time church secretary, mother of four great sons (and a wonderful daughter-in-law!), and author of three Christian suspense novels: Betrayed, Identity Revealed, and A Murder Unseen. (Available at: Amazon.com.) Greater than that, I am a child of God with a passion for God, my family, and writing!
If you want to connect with me, join me on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, and Pinterest. Interested in updates by email? CLICK HERE!

Have a question? Email Me!

Categories: Life, Missionary Life
  1. March 4, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    This is wonderful, Rosie. I hope the new venture is everything you want to accomplish.

  2. March 4, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    I had a big smile on my face as I read this post. What a blessing you are going to be at NTM! I love how our Father has it all in hand and connects us at the right time to the right people. I’ll be praying for you Rosie ๐Ÿ™‚ x

    • March 4, 2013 at 11:37 pm

      I had a big smile on my face when I received the email this afternoon confirming my reinstated status. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. lorddavidprosser
    March 5, 2013 at 1:36 am

    I’m glad you’ll be able to find a new home at NTM, but they’re lucky to have you too. What an asset. I wish you luck and much happiness there Rosie. xx Hugs xx

    • March 5, 2013 at 6:49 am

      Thanks, David. I’m quite excited about it. ๐Ÿ™‚ You and your wife continue in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. Colin & Cilla Gregory
    March 5, 2013 at 2:55 am

    Only one thing springs to mind, and it is this.
    Go with God Rosie. Step by step.

    • March 5, 2013 at 6:49 am

      Definitely the way to be going! With God. Step by step.

  5. March 5, 2013 at 6:38 am

    May God Bless you on this new journey and chapter in your life Lxx

  6. Chris Cornell
    March 5, 2013 at 10:30 am

    God’s timing is everything! God bless as your enter a new phase of your chapter of life.

  7. MARIE C. HARRIS
    March 5, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    I KNOW GOD LEADS IN HIS TIME AND I AM SO HAPPY ONCE AGAIN THAT YOU BOTH-YOU AND NTM- WERE WAITING FOR HIS PERFECT TIMING AND FIT. WHAT A TESTIMONY TO HIM AND FOR HIM. GOD BLESS YOU ROISE. PRAYING DAILY FOR YOU ALL. GOD BLESS MARIE

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

