Home > Life > Plans to Give You Hope and a Future

Plans to Give You Hope and a Future

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”
~ Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

DSC00061

This promise came to the Israelites in the middle of captivity. It wasn’t an immediate promise, but the hope of a better future beyond captivity.

During our journey with cancer, we weren’t captives, but we faced hardships and an unknown future. But we had God and each other, and that was enough. Still, there were those more distant unknowns, the after-Matt unknowns. Those unknowns could give cause to fret, which is why I think God gave me this verse.

It was like He was reassuring me that He had a plan for me—even an after-Matt plan. He was reassuring me that He had a hope for me—even an after-Matt hope. And now I’m at that place. I’m at the after-Matt place. So what’s next?

Matt and I had many discussions over the past few years of what my future would hold. Our numerous discussions always came back to the same conclusion, that I should head back into missions. Missions was where I was before I met Matt. Missions is where my heart remains.

The details have been coming together beautifully, so much so, that next week I will be making a trip to New Tribes Mission’s headquarters in Florida for an interview. During that time I will also meet with the Communications Department, which is where I am most interested in working. Missions, communicating, and writing—what a wonderful blend of ministry and what I love. Your prayers are appreciated as I make this trip—and I look forward to giving you an update afterwards.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rosie Cochran

I am a widow—but my identity does not end there. I am a former pastor’s wife, former missionary, current full-time church secretary, mother of four great sons (and a wonderful daughter-in-law!), and author of three Christian suspense novels: Betrayed, Identity Revealed, and A Murder Unseen. (Available at: Amazon.com.) Greater than that, I am a child of God with a passion for God, my family, and writing!
If you want to connect with me, join me on TwitterFacebookGoodreads, and Pinterest.  Interested in updates by email? CLICK HERE!

Have a question? Email Me!

Categories: Life
  1. Tracy
    February 20, 2013 at 6:25 am

    What a wonderful thing! Of course we would miss you if you moved away…but we could always come visit!!!! I know that missions has always been a true love of both you and Matt! You touched so many lives through your missions journey! How exciting that you may have the opportunity to do that which you love! I will pray that your interview goes well and that God will give you that perfect, reassuring peace as you take the next steps! Hugs to you!!!

    • February 20, 2013 at 6:46 am

      Yes, you could always visit. 🙂 Thanks for your prayers. I’ll keep you updated.

  2. February 20, 2013 at 8:24 am

    Just lovely :))

  3. February 20, 2013 at 8:41 am

    That is such a blessing – it is so great to read this post and “hear” the smile in your voice. 🙂

  4. Karyn
    February 20, 2013 at 8:46 am

    Will be praying for you as you come down and have your interview and see what God has for you! You would also be near your brother, so you may have more stories about him! 🙂

  5. Chris Cornell
    February 20, 2013 at 10:19 am

    We will continue to pray for you that God will lead you to where He has plans for you. You are such an inspiration to those who have gone through this before you and we know that God will be by your side through the changes that are coming in your life.

  6. February 20, 2013 at 10:35 am

    OMWord!! That is so perfect! I know they were desperately needing someone in that dept. and you are such a perfect fit with your gifts and talents. The Lord is sooo good to fill a void and need w/ someone who loves to do that specific work. We’re so excited for you and praising God w/ you to see how the Lord has answered that question and so quickly. Praying for your travels, interview, details and for you guys as a family.

  7. February 20, 2013 at 10:59 am

    Hi Rosie, we rejoice with you as God opens doors for you! This sounds like such a perfect fit! Know you remain in our prayers.

  8. Brad Gardiner/Marion Gardiner
    February 20, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    Continuing to pray about your future. You would make a great speaker to women I think as you express yourself so well. So good to hear about the interview! We first met [the one and only time] as you and Matt were on your way to language school in that day. :o) Now you might come full circle. You have much to offer I perceive. God is faithful and He will never leave you!

    • February 20, 2013 at 1:30 pm

      Met? Wasn’t that more like you rescued us after our newly inspected car had a radiator leak? (Or some issue.) I think it was more like you rescued us, housed and fed us while our car was being repaired! A bit more than “met,” right? 🙂

  9. Fran Steitler
    February 21, 2013 at 9:50 am

    Praise the Lord. Jer. 29:11 is my new “life verse”. I love what is has for you now also. You will be in my prayers as you travel this road. Do you think Florida would be better than a foot of the white stuff? Today it would be.

  10. February 21, 2013 at 10:52 am

    You are such a godly testimony as you walk with the Lord in difficult days. Your smile, the way you encourage others, really shows the faithfulness and power of God. I agree with Brad and Mary Gardiner, that you would make a speaker to women that God could use mightily. I’m asking God to guide you in the days ahead.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

