Home > Devotional > Beautiful Moments

Beautiful Moments

It’s always good to have our thinking challenged. After my last post, a family friend lovingly wrote, “The empty space that Matt has left in your soul may still be there, but it can be a beautiful spot.” He was challenging and encouraging me that it can be beautiful right now. Not years from now, but right now.

As I thought over his words, God brought to mind all the beautiful moments He has blessed me with these past weeks. I couldn’t begin to list all of them, but I hold them close to my heart.

…Words of encouragement, offers of help, and hugs at just the right moment.

…Cards from friends and strangers alike—some from people I barely know who were touched by Matt’s struggle with cancer.

…Invites for coffee and a time to just chat.

…An invite to a Valentine Day’s party family style—to keep me occupied on that day.

And the list goes on.

Beautiful moments despite an empty space.

That begs the question: How can a “spot” in my life be filled with beautiful moments, but not be beautiful? I think he was right. This empty space can still be a beautiful spot right now. Maybe beautiful in a strange way, but still beautiful.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rosie Cochran

I am a widow—but my identity does not end there. I am a former pastor’s wife, former missionary, mother of four great sons (and a wonderful daughter-in-law!), and author of three Christian suspense novels: Betrayed, Identity Revealed, and A Murder Unseen. (Available at: Amazon.com.) Greater than that, I am a child of God with a passion for God, my family, and writing!
If you want to connect with me, join me on TwitterFacebookGoodreads, and Pinterest.  Interested in updates by email? CLICK HERE!

Have a question? Email Me!

Categories: Devotional
  1. February 19, 2013 at 6:58 pm

    Hey Rosie – this has truly inspired me and like you, it has challenged me to make those beautiful “spots” now – not years from now. Sending tons of love. . . ~Janet~

    • February 19, 2013 at 8:17 pm

      Thanks, Janet. It’s so much a choice. To choose to see God’s blessings in the midst of hard places—or to see only the hardship and become bitter. I don’t want to be bitter. I want to choose to see the beautiful “spots” God is giving me.

  2. Davod knapp
    February 19, 2013 at 7:49 pm

    Rosie

    I am really considering writing a book on my experiencing mourning twice as a man. I but you could help me??

    David Knapp

    • February 19, 2013 at 8:23 pm

      David, I’ve thought of you often the past months, not able to understand the burden our Lord has asked you to bear, not once, but twice in this life. I’m always so thankful that God doesn’t require that we understand, only that we trust. Thank you for your testimony through both times.

      I think it would be great if you could write a book on all God has taken you through. Let me know what kind of help you were thinking of.

      Rosie

  3. February 20, 2013 at 3:41 am

    You’re a woman of superb strength and great courage Rosie. Even while you were suffering you still found time to send support to me for which I’m grateful. I know that empty spot beside you won’t remain empty for long with all the wonderful things you mention, thoughts and memories. It’s something I shall bear in mind for the future.
    Huge Hugs to you. xxxx

    • February 20, 2013 at 5:47 am

      David, you and your dear wife continue in my thoughts and prayers. Keep enjoying each day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

