Home > Devotional > There Is a Time and a Season

There Is a Time and a Season

“He has made everything beautiful in its time.”
(Ecclesiastes 3:11)

God has made everything beautiful in its time. This verse showed up in my Bible study time under God’s promises and how they apply to our lives. After a string of verses on there being a time and season for everything, God puts in this wonderful promise. God has made everything beautiful in its time.

I find it strange that it’s past tense. I keep wanting to say, “God will make everything beautiful in its time.” But it’s like He’s already done it. He has already made everything beautiful in its time. Easy to do when you know the beginning from the end.

As a new widow, I’m claiming His new mercies every morning. Leaning hard on God, I’m finding His strength to take me through these difficult days, the adjustments, the decisions. I’m finding His joy and peace in the hardship. But beautiful? I wouldn’t describe it like that. It doesn’t look beautiful right now. It doesn’t feel like everything will one day be beautiful again. I mean, how can life ever hold the same “beauty” without my beloved husband by my side? It doesn’t feel like that can be true. But are my beliefs based on feelings or on the truths of God’s Word?

It’s a given. My beliefs are rooted in the truths of God’s Word. That being true, when He plops a reassuring promise before me, I’m going to claim it and cling to it—even if I don’t quite get it. It’s a promise. It’s a truth. I’ll claim that any day over my unreliable feelings.

He has made everything beautiful in its time. Now’s just not that time. Right now it’s a time to mourn. It’s okay to mourn. It’s okay that the world doesn’t hold the same beauty. But I have that promise, that someday I’ll see again that God has made everything beautiful in its time.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rosie Cochran

I am a widow—but my identity does not end there. I am a former pastor’s wife, former missionary, mother of four great sons (and a wonderful daughter-in-law!), and author of three Christian suspense novels: Betrayed, Identity Revealed, and A Murder Unseen. (Available at: Amazon.com.) Greater than that, I am a child of God with a passion for God, my family, and writing!
If you want to connect with me, join me on TwitterFacebookGoodreads, and Pinterest.  Interested in updates by email? CLICK HERE!

Have a question? Email Me!

Categories: Devotional
  1. Kara
    February 13, 2013 at 6:43 am

    That was beautiful Rosie! Thanks for writing. Un abrazo muy fuerte!

  2. Tracy
    February 13, 2013 at 7:54 am

    Cherish the beautiful memories you made with Matt…cling to God’s promises, and continue to be that beautiful woman God has made you! Praying always for you, my friend ❤

    • February 13, 2013 at 9:14 pm

      Thanks, Tracy. That’s one of the “benefits” of a long-term illness. You know you have limited time and you make the most of every moment. We have many beautiful memories to cherish.

  3. Mary Aspinwall
    February 13, 2013 at 8:03 am

    Beautiful, Rosie. I have been thinking and praying for you. So good to remember God’s promises and truth! How blessed we are to be HIS! Will continue to pray and to thank God for you!
    Love you!

    • February 13, 2013 at 9:15 pm

      Mary, we are definitely blessed to be His! Thanks for your continued prayers to carry us on.

  4. February 13, 2013 at 8:13 am

    Reblogged this on Wendy Reis Editing and commented:
    Rosie is a beautiful soul, who walked mile for mile with her late husband on his journey through cancer. I have not lost my husband, but I did lose a son, and I know this will be a long journey with interesting stages. At some point, all who grieve hit a brick wall. I pray I can be there for her when it happens. We don’t seem to be exempt from any stages of the process because we have strong faith. Blessings Rosie.
    Wendy

    • February 13, 2013 at 9:17 pm

      Thanks for your kind words, Wendy. I’m just thankful that when that brick wall is reached, that I’m not alone. I have God, my faith, and the many wonderful people (including yourself!) who God has surrounded me with.

  5. Debbie Badman
    February 13, 2013 at 8:56 am

    Once again, Rosie, your words are so inspiring. I can see you have a close relationship with the Lord. You are honest about how you feel. That is refreshing. Keep holding on to the Lord. He won’t let you down. We don’t understand why He chooses to do what He does but we know He is there to help us through ( or carry us through). Love you much and continue to pray for you!!

  6. Chris Cornell
    February 13, 2013 at 9:28 am

    Rosie,
    You have been in our prayers for God to give you His Peace and help you to make it through these initial feelings of being left behind. Only God can give you what you need to get through each day and move to the next. We will continue to lift you up in prayer.

  7. Colin & Cilla Gregory
    February 13, 2013 at 10:04 am

    Thank you Rosie, very often the most precious thoughts come in our darkest and saddest experiences, but that is what The Lord does. He reminds us of His promises in order that we can receive from Him, even when we can not feel Him near.

  8. February 13, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    Rosie, I have been thinking of and commiting you to our Father so often these days. How you must be missing Matt’s presence! No denying it, eh? But I know that you have a strong relationship with the Lord and as you said you’re leaning heavily on Him. ” Under HIs wings you are safely abiding” I have dear friends whose husband are with the Lord. They have told me that they are finding God’s promise to be their “husband” now to be so true. And that their relationship with Him is sweeter and stronger than when they, so rightly, leaned upon and looked to their earthly “head”. God will be the same to you. He is so faithful. During this time He remembers your frame, He knows you are “dust” and as a Father has compassion on his child so God has compassionate care for you. Lovingly, your sister-in-Christ, June

  9. LuAnn Netti
    February 13, 2013 at 6:47 pm

    You have been and continue to be in my prayers, Rosie!

  1. February 13, 2013 at 7:01 am
  2. February 19, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

