Home > Laughter, Life > The Unknown Brother

The Unknown Brother

ihaveabrother

Humor comes at the strangest moments—even at memorial services. The service was held at our former home church where I’ve continued to be their full-time secretary for the past five years. Before the service, a friend commented, “You don’t have any pictures of your brother in your office.”

“You’re right, I don’t,” I replied. The thought ran through my mind that I should probably remedy that before Chris heard about this—and then I put the thought aside.

As we sat around the house following the service, I was quick to catch on that a coverup was not going to work.

The story goes that as people came through the line, my sister would introduce herself as my sister. The response was often a warm, “I’ve heard so much about you!”

Chris stood next to Gill. Following suit, he would introduce himself as my brother, but instead of a warm “I’ve heard so much about you,” his introduction most often elicited a surprised, “I didn’t even know Rosie had a brother!”

At one point Chris turned to Gill with a smile and said, ‘I’m going to have to talk to Rosie about this.'”

Laughter erupted as the story finished. I had to add my earlier thoughts to the story, admitting my coverup wasn’t going to work. It was way too late to get a picture of Chris on my office shelf. Of course, I did point out to my brother that my sister calls me several times a week on the way to work, my mom calls me several times a week on the way home from work, so maybe if he started calling me he would come up in conversation more with the folks at the church. We’ll see how that goes. 🙂


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rosie Cochran

I am a pastor’s wife, former missionary, mother of four great sons (and a wonderful daughter-in-law!), and author of three Christian suspense novels: Betrayed, Identity Revealed, and A Murder Unseen. (Available at: Amazon.com.) I have a passion for God, my family, and writing!
If you want to connect with me, join me on TwitterFacebookGoodreads, and Pinterest.  Interested in updates by email? CLICK HERE!

Have a question? Email Me!

Categories: Laughter, Life
  1. February 4, 2013 at 6:56 am

    I’m glad to see you took the opportunity to get a picture of him then. At least if he’s still a bit remiss in calling you’ll never forget what he looks like with everyone pointing at him.
    Huge Hugs. xxxx

  2. Rebecca Smith
    February 4, 2013 at 7:57 am

    That is funny, we basically said the same thing when we got to him! Plus he is so tall. Gary even complimented your mother by calling her your sister! All these family secrets come out eventually! They did know you had “Canadian” friends!

    We never knew Matt’s middle name was Dean! So is Gary’s and our grandson, Mason. Our sons friends have always called Gary the “Dean Man” and now Jacob sometimes calls Mason the Little Dean man”.

    Sent from my iPad

    • February 4, 2013 at 8:07 pm

      My mom loves being mistaken for my sister, so Gary received brownie points for that mistake. 🙂

  3. February 4, 2013 at 9:24 pm

    Great story. We’re so glad you guys could find some lighter moments to laugh.

  4. Sheryl Splane
    February 6, 2013 at 8:49 am

    Well, I knew your brother from when I babysat him at 1 week old. Opps, I guess that dates me. ☺

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

