Home > Life, Our Cancer Journey > A Glorious Hope

A Glorious Hope

DSC00019

Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of his saints.
~ Psalm 116:15

Words at times fail. After losing much blood since Sunday, I could hear Matt’s breathing changing to that strange rattling sound off and on during the night. At five on Wednesday morning I still heard him breathing, but at seven when I checked on him his body was here, but his spirit was reunited with his Savior and loved ones who have gone on before.

The hardest day of my life was also my husband’s greatest graduation. He is with his Savior. He has been ushered into glory. Can I really begrudge him that? To be free of his cancer-stricken mortal body? To be fully comprehending the love of his Savior? How he must be rejoicing to see his earthly father up there and other friends and loved ones. No, there’s no way I can begrudge him any of that. 

Though our hearts feel a great void and loss, and we grieve deeply, we do not grieve as those that have no hope. Why? Because we know Matt took God at His Word. He recognized that he was a sinner, incapable of earning his way to heaven through any good living of his own. When God said He sent His only Son, Jesus Christ, to die on the cross for our sins; and that Jesus rose the third day victorious over death; Matt believed Him. He confessed with his mouth, he believed with his heart, and by doing so accepted God’s free gift of eternal life. We know Matt is in heaven with his Savior and that we have the certain hope of a future heavenly reunion. What a glorious hope that is.

Funeral arrangements have been made. Both the Calling Hours and the Memorial Service will be held at:

SECOND BAPTIST CHURCH
1 N. Herman Avenue
Auburn, NY

The times are as follows:
CALLING HOURS: Friday, February 1, 2013 at 5-7PM
MEMORIAL SERVICE: Friday, February 1, 2013 at 7PM
A fellowship time and refreshments will follow after the service.

(Link to the obituary.)


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rosie Cochran

I am a pastor’s wife, former missionary, mother of four great sons (and a wonderful daughter-in-law!), and author of three Christian suspense novels: Betrayed, Identity Revealed, and A Murder Unseen. (Available at: Amazon.com.) I have a passion for God, my family, and writing!
If you want to connect with me, join me on TwitterFacebookGoodreads, and Pinterest.  Interested in updates by email? CLICK HERE!

Have a question? Email Me!

Categories: Life, Our Cancer Journey
  1. Wesley Jank
    February 1, 2013 at 7:47 am

    Aunt Rosie, I never know what to say at times like this but I wanted you to know two things. 1) Uncle Matt was an important figure in my life (as my best friends dad’s) he helped shape who I became.
    2) Watching the way you both responded during this very hard time always pointed people back to the goodness of God and I’m thankful for that.
    We are praying for you guys!

  2. February 1, 2013 at 8:36 am

    Rosie, Tim and I are sorry for your loss. Thankful for that great day when we will be reunited with those who have gone on before!

  3. February 1, 2013 at 9:37 am

    Rosie, Julia and I are devastated by your loss. We know you feel Matt has gone to a place in heaven but that rarely makes the loss any easier for those left behind. You have our heartfelt commiserations but feel secure in the knowledge that you will have many great memories to hold you through the bleakest moments. Many, many Hugs. xx

    • February 1, 2013 at 1:07 pm

      So, true, David. We don’t grieve for Matt knowing where he is, but we grieve at our great loss. Thankfully we do have many great memories. We spoke often that we had shared a wonderful life together and had no regrets. That’s a wonderful thing to be able say.
      David, you and your dear wife, Julia, continue in my prayers that you will have many more wonderful memories together.

  4. Sharon Block
    February 1, 2013 at 10:00 am

    What a testimony you are Rosie, of God’s strength and His unfailing love. To Him be the glory. You all have been our prayers daily.

    • February 1, 2013 at 1:08 pm

      Thanks for your prayers. We’ve been blessed to be upheld by the prayers of so many.

  5. Karen Moore
    February 1, 2013 at 11:15 am

    Praise God that His promises hold true for all of us. Matt will be remembered well by all who knew him. God’s army of angels is plus one, and he is a strong soldier. Take care.

  6. Patricia Dye
    February 1, 2013 at 11:32 am

    Well it is February 1st….Just wanted to tell you I printed off this page and Paul will share Matt’s very clear testimony with the inmates on Saturday nite, Sunday morning and Sunday evening….Thank you for sharing this with the world Rosie…very important to do so!

    • February 1, 2013 at 1:11 pm

      That’s great, Pat. That others would be reached with the gospel through all this would be such a blessing.

  7. February 1, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    I’ve cried and prayed for you since yesterday, my friend. I’m thankful for your testimony!

    • February 1, 2013 at 1:12 pm

      Thanks for your love and prayers, Sherri.

  8. February 1, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    Rosie, thanks for sharing your loss. . . and his gain. Your brilliance as a writer shines through in your simple words, and behind the words, I’m sure there’s sorrow beyond comprehension. Know that I’m praying for you and your family, and praying that God will fill that gap–enough.

    • February 1, 2013 at 1:14 pm

      Sorrow beyond comprehension? Yes, you’ve got the picture. Great sorrow tempered by God’s great grace. That’s the blessing we have as believers.

  9. Starla Kloth
    February 1, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    Just read the e-mail about Matt’s home going. May God strengthen you and your family during this tme. Praise God that you have that hope that Matt is with the Lord and that one day you will see him again. We have lots of memories of you guys and the time we were in Venezuiela together.

  10. February 1, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    We where so sorry to hear of Matt’s passing ; yet rejoicing knowing his suffering is over and he is now with our Lord.

  11. Doug Kennedy
    February 1, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    Karen and I are thinking of you and your family today Rosie. Praying for the Holy Spirit to give the comfort that only He can. Much love.

    • February 2, 2013 at 10:25 pm

      Doug & Karen, thanks for your love and prayers…and for the phone call that we missed! I did listen to your message. 🙂

  12. Judy White
    February 1, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    Rosie, we’re grieving with you over the loss of Matt and his companionship in your life. Even expecting the end to come soon doesn’t make it any easier. We’re thankful for the last couple of years that you had together, though – more than we all originally thought. We wish we could be there with you, and put our arms around you, but we’ll be praying that our Lord will do just that for you. Keeping you in our prayers…

  13. Beth Sutton
    February 1, 2013 at 4:13 pm

    Dear Rosie, Our hearts are heavy for your loss. My eyes well up just writing these few words. Matt was a wonderful man. Mike and I are so glad that we got to work with both of you . Your love relationship with each other was always such an example for Mike and I, as I am sure it has been to your children. Matt was also a great father to your boys, and we feel very blessed to call one of your son”s our son too. We will continue to pray for you in these very hard days. All our love Rosie, Beth for Mike as well

  14. February 1, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    My heartfelt grief I send to you. I never knew your husband. But I have been acutely aware of his illness for some time. I know how strong is your faith. I will add my prayers for all of you.

  15. Chris and Barb Heckman
    February 1, 2013 at 8:31 pm

    Love to you Rosie. Chris was washing dishes and praying for you and Matt when I told him the sad news. God always knows what to put on people’s hearts doesn’t He? Chris also has fond memories of visiting the mission field and putting a roof on the house. He said Matt was his “go to guy” as he showed him how to get the best deals etc. I know your heart must be so heavy and we in our own ways are grieving too. We look forward to seeing your loved ones and our friends again. Joy comes in the morning..Chris and Barb Heckman.

  16. Eloise Vaughn
    February 1, 2013 at 11:56 pm

    My thoughts and prayers are with you Rosie, I lost my very Precious Husband to cancer also, But we both had given our lives to the LORD, and my husband said, I know that I am going to Heaven and be with Our Precious Lord, From a Friend who really understands what you are going through in the loss of Your Precious husband, Matt, Sincerely, Eloise Vaughn

  17. Pamela Henry
    February 2, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    Dear Rosie, “Whom not having seen, we love”–You have blessed me with your sharing of your days, thoughts, prayers. For years I prayed for the Colombia hostages and missionaries,including Al and Maureen Fletcher, never having personally met any. I did not know your connection til recent years. What a heritage! I, too, am a widow to cancer, for twenty years. Time doesn’t matter– we live in eternity! In spirit, through His Spirit, we are never parted — just temporarily in body. I pray you are enjoying those very solid “everlasting Arms” bearing you along. In His love and joy, Pam Henry

  18. March 23, 2013 at 3:21 am

    Hello there! This article couldn’t be written much better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I will send this information to him. Pretty sure he will have a great read. Many thanks for sharing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

