Home > Laughter, Our Cancer Journey > My Husband’s Kryptonite

My Husband’s Kryptonite

My husband is brave. He’s tough. He’s not what I’d call a wimp. But just as Superman could be brought down by kryptonite, we all have our own personal kryptonite.

For my husband, it is shots. Needles. Sharp pointy things that medical personnel have the strange notion that they need to poke you with. Those things have been the kryptonite of my tough husband—the one thing that can lower him to the rank of wimp.As you can well imagine, after being diagnosed with cancer he was forced to go face to face with his personal kryptonite time after time, doctor visit after doctor visit, hospital stay after hospital stay.

Hypodermic syringe

And now, due to the burden of cancer on the pancreas, his body isn’t producing enough insulin (one of the functions of the pancreas), and he has become an insulin-dependent diabetic. Yes, this means a daily showdown with his personal kryptonite.

I’m very pleased to say that, whereas Superman never developed a fortitude against kryptonite, I’ve seen my husband rise above his. True, he still hates needles, but he’s been testing his own blood sugar, which, yes, involves poking oneself with needles. Very impressive indeed.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Rosie Cochran

I am a pastor’s wife, former missionary, mother of four great sons (and a wonderful daughter-in-law!), and author of three Christian suspense novels: Betrayed, Identity Revealed, and A Murder Unseen. (Available at: Amazon.com.) I have a passion for God, my family, and writing! Follow me on Twitter and Facebook.

Have a question? Email Me!

  1. May 24, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    Very impressive. Love to him!

  2. Deborah Harris Anziano
    May 24, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    Glad to hear of his bravery :))) and super happy that things are going well!

    • May 24, 2012 at 8:29 pm

      Thanks! Yes, very brave for someone with a phobia for needles. 🙂

  3. karenselliott
    May 24, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    What a brave soul! Best wishes on getting through this new challenge. I commend you both. I do not have problem with getting needles, but I do have a problem with watching myself get a needle. As long as I can turn my head, no biggie. But I can’t imagine having to do it to myself. I’m praying for you guys!

    • May 24, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      Thankfully, I don’t have a phobia of needles—but I have to watch when I’m given one. That way I know when to relax (so it will hurt less!). Unfortunately, one of our sons inherited his dad’s phobia of needles AND my need to watch while it happens. Poor mixture!

  4. May 24, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    My husband is the same way about needles. The Lord gives us so much grace. Praying.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

