Home > Life, Missionary Life > Tethered to Technology

Tethered to Technology

English: Two women text messaging on their cel...

Image via Wikipedia (Public Domain)

When a server goes down and your business requires the internet, you feel it. A friend of mine just felt it. Acutely. Several days of crisis management—with a bit of anger management—were the results of a server gone down.

It spawned a lot of comments on our dependence on technology. I found I agreed with it all. I’m tied to technology.

But that hasn’t always been the case. You would think that years of missionary work in remote jungle villages would have proved sufficient insulation from ever becoming technology-dependent.

Initially, running water meant we ran to the river, the “corner store” was a 2 1/2 hour flight away, and a precious can of soda was lukewarm—but still precious.

Electrical power was limited to what a few solar panels could pump into our batteries. If the sun refused to shine, power dropped and was saved for our two-way radio, our only contact to the outside, to civilization. The internet? An impossibility.

Life was primitive. We called it rustic, the word invoking a more romantic aura than primitive. Life was rustic, but good.

But now? Life isn’t so rustic.

I’m blessed with modern appliances, electrical power not dictated by the amount of shining sun, hot water in the shower—and technology. I’ve returned to the twentieth century!

I find myself happily tethered to my cell phone, computer, and the illustrious internet. I find myself groaning along with my friend as the server went down. I realize how quickly our lives changed. Rustic turned to high-tech. The internet replaced the two-way radio as our connection to world.

Life is different, but still good. Now, if only the server doesn’t go down before I post this….

  1. February 23, 2012 at 11:04 am

    So true! You’ve had quite an experience and yet technology still manages to become vital. It’s almost frightening, isn’t it?

    • February 23, 2012 at 7:35 pm

      I’m probably suppose to agree to the “almost frightening,” but I enjoy technology too much to quite say that! Maybe the “almost frightening” part is recognizing how powerless our country would be without technology. It would require a restructuring.

  2. February 23, 2012 at 11:31 am

    Love it Rosie!

  3. tracy
    February 23, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    I just love reading your posts..awesome!

  4. February 23, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    Oh my goodness, I’m feeling this today. I have had spotty internet all day – the dish company blames the weather, the email company blames the dish provider … but I still can’t get to my email! I try to be patient, but my business depends on it. When it’s down, it’s just annoying. I feel anxious when I can’t connect. I sometimes (just sometimes) wish I didn’t have so many “connections” to worry about.

    • February 23, 2012 at 7:38 pm

      The blame game. And you’re still left without answers! Feeling your frustration. Unfortunately, weather really does affect satellite internet. Been there,done that. Admittedly, it was still much better than dial-up. Hoping you have better weather tomorrow. 🙂

  5. February 24, 2012 at 12:27 am

    Thanks Rosie for another great post. Technology is wonderful…when it works. My father recently suffered a minor stroke and one of his desires is that he get better soon so he can get back on FaceBook. Everyday he’d post a devotional thought or the words of a favorite hymn. Oh, by the way, Dad will be 85 in March! God Bless! Mike

    • February 24, 2012 at 6:45 am

      Thanks for sharing, Mike. Technology doesn’t know an age limit. My dad is a youngster compared to yours, only in his 70s, but he’s as “techie” as they come. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

