Home > Laughter > Who Am I?

Who Am I?

Aunt Rosie & Gigi!

I was chatting with my great-niece and great-nephew this morning, hoping I was reconnecting with them. At five and six years old, not having seen them for two years was a long time. I thought I was doing a good job getting some Aunt Rosie time in until my great-nephew looked up at me, a perplexed look on his face.

“You talk different,” he told me, stressing the word ‘different.’

I wasn’t sure where he was coming from, and wanting to keep the flow of conversation and bonding going, I said to him, “I may have a different accent than your Nana, but I’m still her sister.”

My petite great-niece looked at me and corrected me in her little girl voice. “You’re not her sister. You’re her mom!”

“I’m not Gigi (what they called their great-grandmother)!” I told them. “I’m Aunt Rosie.”

They weren’t so sure and it took a bit of convincing. I mean, in their minds I looked just like Gigi! I’m sure the fact that I didn’t have Gigi’s British accent helped to sway them to believing I was Aunt Rosie! Talk about an identity complex! I’ve never had to convince someone before that I really am me!

The reassuring part came later. When my sister and I arrived back at the house after dropping her grand-kids off at school, Spanky, my sister’s Jack Russell Terrier came bounding towards me, leaping at my legs and demanding attention. My sister started laughing.

“At least Spanky knows you’re not Gigi!”

And it was true. Spanky knew NOT to leap at Gigi who has a great love for dogs at a distance, but not within reach. But Spanky knew I would invite his loving attentions! Whew! I guess I really am me!

Categories: Laughter
  1. January 27, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    Whew! You had me going there for a minute…I’m glad to know that you are still you! 😉 Your story definitely convinced me, and being the dog person I am that’s what sealed the deal! 🙂 You’re the best…thanks for the smiles. Love ya ta bits! ~Janet~

  2. karenselliott
    February 4, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    I guess dogs don’t hear accents, they just sense the doggie-love.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

