Home > Easter, Our Old House > Thankful Hearts

Thankful Hearts

A Turkey.

The pies are done. The turkey is in the process of being cooked to perfection. The house may not be quite ready for the extended family to show up—but it will be. Now I’m taking a few minutes to snuggle on the couch with a blanket, coffee in hand, and slow down enough to thank God for all the blessings He has brought into my life.

I have many things to be thankful for, but I must admit my greatest thanks this year is that, though my husband continues to battle stage IV pancreatic cancer, he’s still battling it. That means he is still here with us!

The doctors didn’t expect him to live through the summer, but he did. They didn’t expect him to see Jamie’s 23rd birthday in August, but he did. They didn’t think he’d be around to attend the NYS Fair in September, but he was. I’m sure they didn’t expect we would have the honor to spend another Thanksgiving with him, but we are.

This Thanksgiving, I am thankful for each extra day and each extra memory that God has given me with my husband, that God has given my children with their father.

  1. Stephanie Humphreys
    November 24, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    Thankful with you, Rosie!

  2. Karyn Kurz
    November 24, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    So thankful God has given you more time together! Hope you had a great day with family!

  3. Kathleen
    November 25, 2011 at 5:38 am

    Praising God with you! Yes, He is good “all the time!” (as my daughter and son-in-law say)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

