Home > Our Cancer Journey > Whose Annual Physical Was It?

Whose Annual Physical Was It?

Usually when you go in for your annual physical it’s “all about you.” And really, that makes a lot of sense. Unless you’re me. I went in for my annual physical, but the visit was much more about my hubby than about me.

Since this was the first time I had seen our family doctor since Matt had been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer, it was only natural that some discussion would take place. When our family doctor mentioned that he had seen that Matt had received another CT scan, I told him we wouldn’t have the results until next Wednesday. That’s when I found out that our doctor had the report right there on his netbook.

We discussed the report and Matt’s health at length. The tumors have continued to grow. Thankfully, there is no evidence of the cancer spreading to any other organs. Obviously the oncologist may have more to say on the subject, but that won’t take place until next Wednesday.

As we finished our discussion my doctor said, “Now we should make sure that you are healthy.” So, yes, my annual physical was a little bit about me.

But back to Matt. The results were not a shock. Apart from God giving us a miracle, these are the results that should be expected. Still, I was thankful I had planned on taking the rest of the afternoon off and did not need to head back into work. I know God is in control. I trust the end result with Him even though I may never understand it. But there’s still the emotions. You need time to absorb it. You need time to process it. You need time feel sad and let the tears fall.

I wish the update could have been a more positive one. I wish we could have shared a miracle with you. Yet even as I say that, I know there really is a miracle here. It’s not the miraculous healing we’ve all prayed and hoped for. It is the miracle of the unexplainable. Matt continues to baffle the doctors. They say he should be in a lot of pain. He’s not. By a generous prognosis, he should have been in heaven chatting with his dad by June. It’s late September and he’s still here chatting with me. (He’d probably argue that he’s listening to me chatter!) Maybe we didn’t get a good report, but we do have a lot to be thankful for.

  1. Lisa Mather
    September 23, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    You continue to be such an encouragement to me Rosie! Your family’s trial continues to force me back into a more correct perspective of my life. Thank you!

  2. Karen Moore
    September 23, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    Continued prayers that God gives you strength and comfort every day.

  3. Shirley Holden
    September 23, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    Janet Beasley gave me your site to look at – you are a blessing and may God continue to give you hope! My mama had a stroke and I am continuing for hope for her and all that follows. God bless!

    • September 24, 2011 at 9:36 pm

      Shirley, so sorry to hear of your mom’s stroke. I took a moment to pray for her recovery and your peace of mind.

  4. Christina
    September 24, 2011 at 12:56 am

    We won’t stop praying for that miracle! Hugs to you!

  5. Walt
    September 24, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Hey Rose, I would love to send this link to my email chain. Is that ok? Love you guys.. Walt and Jane

    • September 24, 2011 at 2:37 pm

      Walt & Jane, please feel free to share the link with your e-mail chain. We love you guys too!

  6. Teresa Dyck
    September 24, 2011 at 11:19 am

    Each day is a gift!! Enjoy them one at a time!! What a wonderful miracle to hear how God is sustaining your sweetie, and graced you with “overtime” That IS a miracle!

  7. September 24, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    Thanks for all your words of encouragement and prayers!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

