Home > Missionary Life > Nocturnal Critters

Nocturnal Critters

The other night there was this strange noise in the bedroom, an irritating scratching noise that was out of place. Lifting my head from the pillow, I glanced around the room. Had our Jack Russell Terrier, Mocha, slipped into the room when we had come to bed? I thought not.

Listening, I realized it was the roller blinds rubbing up against the bottom edge of the window where a small amount of tacky tape remained from the winter window films. The window was open and the cool night air was moving the blind in a rhythmic fashion, causing it to be momentarily caught each time it brushed the tape. The solution was quick and simple. I raised the blind slightly, taking note to remove the tacky tape the following day.

With my head back on the pillow, my husband brought an old memory to the surface, a strange memory from our days as missionaries in the jungles of Venezuela. Our boys had a pet armadillo for one day. One day and one night.

Being nocturnal, this cute little critter decided to join us in the bedroom for attention in the middle of the night. His little feet sounded like prancing hooves on our cement floors—loud prancing hooves in the stillness of the night. As I wearily looked over the edge of the bed to see him looking back up at me, I knew he did recognize his grave mistake. He might have thought he was cute, but that definitely was not what was going through my mind! I was thinking of how quickly we would give him back the next day!

Nine-banded-ArmadilloLouis Agassiz Fuertes [Public domain or Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Categories: Missionary Life Tags:
  1. successbmine
    June 9, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    This made me think back, also. I was staying at the Christian Retreat in Bradenton Florida sometime back in the 70s. One night, on my way back to my room, I encountered an armadillo. I stood very still and the little crtitter decided to make his way right between my feet. I’m not so sure I’d want one in my bedroom, though. :-}

  2. June 10, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    I agree, Rosie. Mind you, I’d rather have an armadillo in my bedroom than what I did have one night at the same retreat. I don’t know what it was, but it was on the ceiling and was at least 5″ long, maybe longer, and a couple of inches wide with about a million legs. It sort of resembled a large black bottle brush that had been flattened! I know about millipedes and centipedes, but I didn’t know they came that huge! I was scared to go to sleep for fear it would drop on my face in the middle of the night. I think I slept under the sheet that night. Oh, for a nice little armadillo to wake up to! :-]

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Any thoughts to share? Here's your chance!

